Why I Am A Horrible Father – Reason # 414 (AKA: The apple doesn’t fall far from the tree)

My daughter Jordan had her heart broken a little, and was moping around the house for a couple of days.   I never met this kid, and he didn’t really wrong her from my perspective, he just decided to direct his interests at another girl. 

I like to think that my reputation has preceded me and he ran for the hills instead of taking a chance in trying to ask out my little girl. 

Normally, I would try to at least fake support the best I could while playing Call of Duty, secretly chalking that up as another win for Team Father and move on with the rest of my day.  But this was different.  This would have been Jordan’s first “real” boyfriend, if my reputation didn’t scare the kid away.  She was hurting and I wanted to make her feel better. 

So, she was sitting at the kitchen counter and we started to talk.  It’s funny how different Brianna and Jordan are.  Brianna is notoriously tight lipped.  Jordan isn’t. We had a good talk, and she told me all about it. 

“Well Jordan, do you want me to grab my sword and a shovel?”

“No dad, I’ve got this handled. Sassy Jordan has come out and when I’m done he’ll wish that he was dealing with you”

That’s my girl. 

Leave a Reply

